The Golden Shot Live

LINK TO LIVE UPDATED CAMERA

The Golden Shot (Revisited) is a live online game enabling users with Instant Messenger (iChat AV or AIM 5.9) to fire a real paintball gun at a target located at Q-Arts Gallery in Derby, UK.

The game is available between 14.00 - 15.00 hours British Summer Time [13.00 - 14.00 GMT, 09.00 - 10.00 ET, 06.00 - 07.00 PT, 15.00 - 16.00 CET).

To experience the Golden Shot (Revisited) at its best it is advisable to have a camera connected to your Instant Messenger software, although a one way video chat is possible.

To connect to the Golden Shot (Revisited) enter thegoldenshot@mac.com into your chat or buddy list. Then click on the green camera icon in iChat AV or the video icon on the lower bar in AIM 5.9. If the Golden Shot (Revisited) is busy it may not connect. Wait a while and then try again. Once you have successfully connected you will see the view from the camera mounted on the barrel of the gun. At this point you need to direct the invigilator to point at the target of your choice - "up a bit". "down a bit" and then "fire". The invigilator will then give you some feedback on your marksmenship and send you an electronic certificate via Instant Messenger.

DOWNLOAD iChat AV (For Mac)
DOWNLOAD AIM 5.9 (For PC)
FULL INSTRUCTIONS AND TROUBLESHOOTING

The web camera above shows you the layout of the gallery space, including the gun and the target. To optomise your experience keep the webcam visible on your web browser and the messenger window to one side as you direct the invigilator. Note there is a short delay depending on your messenger connection and the webcam refreshes every 5 seconds so they are unlikely to synchronise.

essay by Ana-Marija Koljanin